Skip to content
VisionWall

Comparison

VisionWall vs Pin Paper.

Updated · Lucas Viegas

Pin Paper is free and runs on macOS 12+ and Windows 10+. VisionWall costs $11.99 (€11.99 in the eurozone) once and needs macOS 13.3 (Ventura) or later. If price or Windows support decides it for you, use Pin Paper.

That belongs at the top of a page like this, not buried under a table tilted our way. What a price tag doesn’t tell you is that these two apps do different jobs. Pin Paper is a composition tool that renders a batch of wallpapers you design. VisionWall is a menu-bar app that ties one desktop to one public Pinterest board and recomposes it on a timer. Every Pin Paper claim below was read on pinpaper.net on 5 September 2026 and links to the page it came from.

What’s the real difference? A set you compose versus a board that stays live.

Pin Paper

You author the wallpaper, then it plays back.

Pin Paper describes its own flow on pinpaper.net: link a Pinterest board or pick a folder, add a frame for each image on a canvas, drag the frames into the arrangement you like, style them with Polaroid borders, torn-paper edges, textures and drop shadows, then create the set. Pin Paper renders a batch sized for your screen and cycles through it, with no wallpaper repeating. The layout can be saved as a template and regenerated later.

VisionWall

You hand over a board, and it keeps up.

VisionWall takes one public Pinterest board URL, composes a masonry wallpaper itself, and sets it. On every refresh, every 30 minutes by default, adjustable from 2 minutes to 2 hours, VisionWall re-reads the board and reshuffles the pins into a new masonry arrangement, so every refresh is a fresh composition. Pins you save tomorrow are on the desktop tomorrow, with no second visit to the app.

So the honest question isn’t $11.99 against free. It’s whether you want to author the composition or delegate it. If arranging frames is the enjoyable part, Pin Paper hands you a canvas and charges nothing for it, and VisionWall would automate away the thing you wanted to do. If the board is something you keep adding to and the desktop is supposed to reflect that, the maintenance is the product, and that is the part VisionWall does on a timer.

VisionWall and Pin Paper, side by side

Prices and features verified 5 September 2026 against pinpaper.net. “Not stated on their site” means exactly that, the fact isn’t published, so it isn’t claimed here either way.

Feature comparison of VisionWall and Pin Paper, verified 5 September 2026
FeatureVisionWallPin Paper
Price$11.99 (€11.99 in the eurozone), paid once. No subscription, no account.Free. No paid tier is offered on the site. 1
PlatformsmacOS 13.3 (Ventura) or later. Universal binary, Apple Silicon and Intel.macOS 12 or later on Apple Silicon, and Windows 10 or later. Intel Mac support is not stated. 1
Where the images come fromOne public Pinterest board URL.A Pinterest board link, or a folder on your computer. You can add several sources. 1
How the wallpaper is composedAutomatically. VisionWall lays the pins out in a masonry grid and reshuffles them on every refresh.Either way. You can add a frame per image on a canvas, drag them into an arrangement and style each frame, or assign a whole board and let Pin Paper fill the layout for you. 1
Picks up new pins on its ownYes. Pins saved to the board later appear at the next refresh.Not stated. The site describes saving a layout as a template and regenerating a fresh set. 1
Manual work per setPaste the board URL once. Nothing after that.Place, size and style the frames, preview, then create the set. 1
Refresh intervalEvery 30 minutes by default. Adjustable from 2 minutes to 2 hours.Not stated. The generated set is described as auto-cycling, with no interval given. 1
Multiple displaysA separate composition is rendered for each screen.Not stated. Wallpapers are described as sized to your display resolution. 1
Offline behaviorThe last wallpaper stays put. Refreshing resumes when you are back online.Not stated. 1
Distribution and signingDirect download from visionwall.io, signed and notarized by Apple. About 1.4 MB. A Mac App Store version is coming, with no date promised.Direct download. The macOS install page says the app “isn’t notarized by Apple yet” and walks you through allowing it in System Settings. 2
License termsOne license activates up to 3 Macs. Free 1.x updates included.Not stated. No license, seat limit or update policy is published. 1

Should you choose Pin Paper?

You want it to cost nothing

Pin Paper is free, and no comparison table changes that. If the budget is zero, this is a real answer and not a compromise.

You are on Windows

VisionWall is a macOS app and will never run on Windows. Pin Paper publishes a Windows 10 or later build, so on a PC it is the only one of the two you can install.

You are on macOS 12 or 13

VisionWall requires macOS 13.3 (Ventura) or later. Pin Paper states macOS 12 or later for Apple Silicon Macs, which covers Monterey and Ventura machines VisionWall cannot serve.

You want to compose it yourself

Placing frames, tilting them, adding Polaroid borders and torn-paper edges is the whole appeal of Pin Paper. If that sounds like the fun part rather than the chore, VisionWall automates away the thing you actually wanted to do.

Should you choose VisionWall?

You keep pinning and want the desktop to follow

VisionWall re-reads the board on every refresh, so a pin saved this afternoon is on the desktop this afternoon. There is no set to regenerate and no second visit to the app.

You want it invisible and idle

VisionWall lives in the menu bar, ships as a 1.4 MB download, and idles at 0% CPU between refreshes. Refreshes run every 30 minutes by default, adjustable from 2 minutes to 2 hours.

You run more than one display

VisionWall composes a separate wallpaper for each screen rather than stretching one image across the set.

You want a paid product with someone behind it

VisionWall is made by Lucas Viegas in Lisbon, signed and notarized by Apple, sold once for $11.99. Paying is what buys you someone to email.

What do VisionWall and Pin Paper have in common?

VisionWall has no account of any kind, you paste a URL and that is the whole handshake, with no Pinterest login at any point. Pin Paper likewise describes pasting a board link rather than signing in, though pinpaper.net does not state whether a Pinterest account is required either way. What VisionWall does state outright is the consequence: it reads pins through Pinterest’s public widget API, so a private or secret board returns nothing. Treat a public board as the safe assumption for Pin Paper too.

Both are also desktop apps rather than services. Neither one uploads your board anywhere. In VisionWall’s case that is specific and checkable: no analytics, no telemetry, no server. The board URL and your settings stay in the local app container, pin images are fetched straight from Pinterest’s CDN to your Mac, and the only thing VisionWall ever calls home for is a static version file on visionwall.io, at most once a day.

Where VisionWall falls short

  • Public boards only. Private, secret and invite-only collaborative boards cannot be read through Pinterest’s public widget API, so VisionWall cannot use them. Pin Paper’s local-folder option is a genuine answer here that VisionWall has no equivalent for.
  • macOS 13.3 or later. Monterey, Ventura before 13.3, and every Windows PC are out of scope. See the full requirements before buying.
  • No Mac App Store build yet. VisionWall is a direct download today, signed and notarized by Apple. A Mac App Store version is coming and we are not promising a date for it.
  • No hand-editing. VisionWall composes the layout for you. You control columns, gutters, margins, corner radius, tile shape and background color, but you cannot drag an individual pin into place the way Pin Paper lets you.

Questions people ask

Is Pin Paper a good free alternative to VisionWall?

Yes, for a specific job. Pin Paper is free, runs on macOS 12 or later on Apple Silicon (Intel support is not stated) and on Windows 10 or later, and lets you compose a wallpaper set from a Pinterest board or a local folder, placing frames by hand, or assigning a whole board and letting Pin Paper fill the layout. It is a composition tool. What pinpaper.net does not claim is that a generated set keeps itself up to date with pins you save later, which is the specific job VisionWall does.

Why pay $11.99 for VisionWall when Pin Paper is free?

You are paying for the wallpaper to maintain itself. VisionWall takes one public Pinterest board URL and recomposes the desktop on a timer, every 30 minutes by default, adjustable from 2 minutes to 2 hours, so new pins appear without any further work. You also get a signed and notarized build, a license for up to 3 Macs, and free 1.x updates.

Can I run VisionWall on Windows?

No. VisionWall is a macOS menu-bar app and requires macOS 13.3 (Ventura) or later. There is no Windows version and none is planned. Pin Paper publishes a Windows 10 or later build, so on a PC it is the practical choice of the two.

Do VisionWall and Pin Paper work with private Pinterest boards?

VisionWall does not. It reads pins through Pinterest’s public widget API, which only returns public boards, a private or secret board will fail with a board-not-found error. VisionWall never asks you to sign into Pinterest, and pinpaper.net does not state whether Pin Paper does, so treat a public board as the safe assumption there too.

Keep reading

Try the live board version.

$11.99 once, up to 3 Macs, free 1.x updates. Not sure which of the two fits you? Email [email protected] and ask.

See pricing

macOS 13.3+ · Universal binary · Notarized by Apple · Secure checkout by Lemon Squeezy

Pin Paper is not affiliated with VisionWall or Lucas Viegas. Pin Paper facts on this page were verified on 5 September 2026 and are linked to their source. Software changes, if you spot something out of date here, email [email protected] and we’ll correct it.